Butternut Squash Soup

Let me start by saying; my kids won’t stop singing Christmas songs!! And it doesn’t help that whenever it snows, they are convinced it is Christmas morning again. When will it end?? I’m done with Christmas! The carols and discussions about Santa Claus do not belong in January. (I’m the kind of person who takes the tree down around 7pm on Christmas Evening.) However, I do have a hard time letting go of Fall. I love wearing brown and I’m a die hard for my pumpkin candles and soap. I also love an awesome harvest soup. I certainly make sure that this soup does not die with the season. I pump this stuff into my veins year round baby.

Before I get into how easy and  yummy it is, please let me fill you in on a few things that are NOT simple for me.

  1. Sticking to a daily cleaning schedule
  2. Pulling out just one wipe at a time from the baby wipe case.
  3. Opening a box of macaroni and cheese.
  4. Bedtime.

Ok. Now that we have cleared that up, I need you to understand how simple this soup is. ESPECIALLY when you get pre-cut butternut squash. It’s a little more expensive but you save a BUTT(ernut squash) load of time by not having to cut it. This obviously gives you more time to show your kids how to Macarena.

DSC_0088

This is about 5 cups of butternut squash. Or if you don’t like the Macarena, you could buy one medium to large squash and cut it yourself.

DSC_0091

Dice a sweet onion. Add it to a large pot with about 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Sauté until translucent (about 5 minutes).

DSC_0092

Add the cubed squash and 3 cups of chicken stock (Veggie stock works great). Or at least to the top of the squash. I actually use this chicken base. For every cup of water, you add 1 teaspoon of this stuff.

Simmer for about 20-30 minutes until the squash can be smashed easily with a fork.

DSC_011622

Add everything to a blender (in batches if needed) and blend until smooth. Blend in additional salt and pepper if needed. The soup should be thick. If its too thin, return to pan and simmer until it reduces a bit. If it is too thick then add a little chicken stock and re-blend. Emersion blenders work great as well. Save the mess!

DSC_0151

Thats it! Garnish with a dash of nutmeg. Simple, healthy and filling. I just drink this stuff straight out of a mug. However, if I’m feeling a touch more civilized, I’ll serve it as a side dish with dinner. It pairs perfectly with my Pistachio Crusted Cod.

DSC_0146

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups of cubed butternut squash (or one medium to large squash)
  • 1 medium sweet onion, diced
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 3-4  cups of chicken stock
  • Nutmeg

I hope you enjoy! What are your favorite items of Fall that you drag into January and beyond?

Thanks!

Jessica

15 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Love this, especially bed time! Especially, as I am listening to my 4 year old scream. We try to take turns laying with the girls at bedtime and she has gotten in the habit of getting her way and only having me, tonight we are trying to stick to our guns. My poor husband has been listening to her scream in his ear for going on 30 min. 😦

    Like

  2. Yum!
    To answer the question, I have just discovered Kabocha Squash, which I dice, pan-fry in coconut oil, and put a little mace and cinnamon on. All Squash makes winter wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

  3. Okay lady. I have had butternut squash two time, and both made me gag. One of them I ended up grating a, as you would say , “butt(ernut squash) load” of cheese, and pretty much turned that stuff into cheese soup 😉 The other was from a friend who put pear in it, and it just wasn’t working. Soooo, I really want to like it. I’m going to have to give yours a try. If it doesn’t work out, perhaps butternut squash and I just weren’t meant to be?.? That would be unfortunate.

    I do however know that the cod and I would definitely get along quite nicely 😉

    Like

    1. Meagan, you crack me up! Do you try to avoid squash in general? Or is it just “sweetened” squash that bugs you?I really like this because it is savory, I am not a fan of adding sweetness to squash. Did you prepare it similar to this recipe?

      Like

      1. Probably. I’m not too big on savory veggies, but I do so enjoy salty goodness. I really like zucchini squash, and have yet to try spaghetti squash.
        I can’t remember the original recipe I had tried, but I promise I will give yours a try!

        Ps. Christmas being put up immediately….amen girl. I do allow it till New Years Day, but that’s mostly so the girls can enjoy the decor. Christmas is only the month of December for this lady.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been looking for good butternut squash recipes to experiment with, so this is well-timed and looks delicious! Question though: how do you pick out a good squash at the store? Or is it just the prettiest one that wins?

    Like

Leave a Reply

